ODCA details eight priorities for cloud adoption

By Dave Bailey
08 Jun 2011 View Comments
Cloud computing

The Open Data Center Alliance (ODCA) yesterday released a report detailing eight facets for customers to consider when thinking about cloud services.

The documents, which are available on the ODCA web site, outline the top priorities for enterprises when adopting cloud computing.

The eight different facets of cloud computing are collated under four main groupings: Secure Federation, Automation, Common Management & Policy, and Transparency.

Security monitoring and security provider assurance are grouped under Secure Federation, while I/O control and virtual machine interoperability appear under Automation.

Further reading

Regulatory Framework – exists currently under Common Management & Policy, with carbon footprint, service catalogue, and standard unit of measurement for IaaS (infrastructure-as-a-service) makes up the Transparency group.

Intel helped create the ODCA in 2010 with an initial membership of over 70 top global businesses.

However, although ODCA claims the membership has quadrupled to over 280 firms, including Dell, EMC and RedHat, there are still many notable absentees.

Those not yet signed up include Amazon, Apple, Cisco, Google, IBM, HP, Microsoft and Oracle.

Reader comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
Windows 10 - will you upgrade?

Microsoft has made an early version of Windows 10 - its next operating system - available for download. The OS promises better integration and harmonisation across platforms, including mobile and desktop. Will your business be upgrading?

38 %
26 %
15 %
21 %