LinkedIn users warned of new phishing scam

By John Leonard
18 Jul 2014 View Comments
linkedinnewlogo

LinkedIn users have been warned about a new phishing scam designed to persuade them to hand over their login details.

An email purporting to be from the business social network tells the user that their account has been blocked due to inactivity. Recipents are told to click on a link and then re-enter their username and password to restart their account, the catch being, of course, that the page that they are redirected to is a spoof LinkedIn page rather than the real thing.

Further reading

Armed with their login details, the criminals would be able to access the user's account and potentially use it as a springboard for highly targetted phishing attacks, sending a personal message to a contact for example. Such targetted emails from a trusted source can achieve very high open and clickthrough rates.

Attention was drawn to the latest LinkedIn scam yesterday by Action Fraud, the UK's national reporting centre for fraud and internet crime which is run by the City of London Police. Action Fraud urges recipients of suspect emails not to click on any links and to forward the email to them. 

Social media sites are a favourite target of scammers, criminals and spies. In November last year a targeted phishing attack was revealed that lured LinkedIn users to a fake dating agency, while the UK's GCHQ intelligence agency spoofed the social media site to compromise Belgium's national telecoms operator Belgacom.

Reader comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
Newsletters
Windows 10 - will you upgrade?

Microsoft has made an early version of Windows 10 - its next operating system - available for download. The OS promises better integration and harmonisation across platforms, including mobile and desktop. Will your business be upgrading?

28 %
42 %
10 %
20 %