BCS introduces IT service management qualifications

31 Aug 2010 View Comments
A Computing logo
BCS logo
BCS has launched new qualifications in IT service management

BCS, the Chartered Institute for IT, has launched the first three of six new specialist qualifications in IT service management.

Michiel van der Voort, director of international and professional development at the Institute, gave reasons for launching the qualifications: “In response to the growth in IT service management, we have worked closely with our accredited training partners and examiners to develop a set of qualifications that directly support the skills development of service management professionals worldwide."

Further reading

"They provide industry recognition of specialist skills and knowledge and will help individuals and organisations gain the credit they deserve,” he added.

Like established IT industry qualifications such as PRINCE 2, they are based on best practice, and relate to specific job roles. BCS states that they complement the ITIL scheme and provide a stepping stone between the ITIL Foundation and ITIL Intermediate qualifications in IT service management.

The first three qualifications – service desk and incident management, change management and service level management – were launched today. The remaining three will launch in autumn 2010.

Reader comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
Windows 10 - will you upgrade?

Microsoft has made an early version of Windows 10 - its next operating system - available for download. The OS promises better integration and harmonisation across platforms, including mobile and desktop. Will your business be upgrading?

36 %
31 %
13 %
20 %